AddThis Social Bookmark Button


The Caveat Onus

Books 1,2, 3 and Coda

Dave Brinks

  ISBN 13  
Book 1:  978-0-9710861-2-8 March, 2006.
Book 2:  978-0-9710861-3-5 November, 2006.
Book 3:  978-0-9710861-4-2 March, 2007.
 Coda:  978-0-9710861-8-0 October, 2007.



The Caveat Onus is Dave Brinks' great poem sequence written during and after hurricane Katrina. Pierre Joris says of the series:


"Interweaving I Ching hexagrammatic measures, Mayan calendar arithmetic & totem animals, and an unwobbling axis mundi as line of flight, the complex architectonics of this superb cyclical poem create a counter-word, an act of sympathetic magic, a harnessing of the destructively chaotic energies of hurricane Katrina. Begun eight months before the storm, then moving through the days & weeks that followed, and now paralleling the rebuilding of the city of New Orleans, Dave Brinks' Caveat Onus series is a major poetic and shamanic enactment, as powerful, poetically innovative, and vital in its way as were Charles Olson's admonitions to Gloucester in the Maximus Poems."

Jerome Rothenberg comments:

"The Caveat Onus, for those of us lucky enough to have watched its development, is present in its first installment as a poetry event of consequence, a cycle of poems geared to a life & expressed through a system of words & numbers, that could make it (I would dare to predict) one of the significant long poems of our time. Pivoting on the number 13 & never abandoning its symmetries & variations, it charts the works & days of Dave Brinks, citizen of New Orleans before & after the floods, world traveler in the ways that really count."


After initial publication by Lavender Ink, the series of 4 books was collected into a single volume by Black Widow Press. There are still a limited number of the original, separate volumes, signed and lettered by the author, available for purchase in complete sets only. Each set of four books is consistently lettered and signed.

Click here to buy the new edition from Black Widow Press.

Click here to read a review in the Times Picayune.

Click here to read a review in the Colorado Review.




Buy from Lavender Ink
Books 1, 2, 3, and Coda,
signed and lettered,